The kalatalo, or wooden knocker, is used in the church during Great Lent and especially on Holy Friday. It is used instead of a bell to call people to church, during processions and consecration. During Lent, tradition dictates that no bells be rung.
Visible in this photo are the six icons of the Apostles, which are displayed in the icon wall of this exhibit. Also, the icons that appear in the “Deacon’s doors” in this exhibit are from this older icon wall - although the doors have since been re-built as part of a new icon wall. The processional fan and cross that mounted on the end of the pews inside the church date from the earliest years of the parish. These pews are also from the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic church. They have been refinished in honor of the parish’s centenary. The stained glass windows in the exhibit are from the original Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church, built in 1913.
This processional banner was made by parishioners in 1985. Their names are embroidered on the bottom corner: Betty Marmulak, Mary Pronko, Kaye Melenchuk, Lydia Tatanish, Helen MacLean. It was donated to the Holy Ghost parish in memory of Walter Marmulak, by his family. In the entrance to the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church, a table is laid with prayer books, church bulletins and other items.
Blue Cloth Badge on yellow felt material; Badge has a trident with a cross on the top on either side laurel branches, underneath the branches the initials U.C.M.C (Ukrainian Catholic Men's Club) and Sydney, N.S
There is a certificate in the exhibit which authenticates the Holy Relic inside the cross that stands on the tetropod, or small Table of Needs. The Relic inside the cross is of St. Josephat. The antymins, or antiminion, inside this glass case also contains Holy Relics, though of an unknown saint. The Relic is sewn into the cloth at the intersection of the cross. This antiminion was consecrated and dedicated to the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Parish of Sydney, Nova Scotia by Bishop Nykyta Budka in 1926. The date and his signature, in ink, are visible in the lower right hand corner of the antiminion
Father Zarsky served the Holy Ghost Ukrainian church in Sydney, NS from 1940 to 1971. For this, and his dedication to the parish, he is fondly remembered. This display unit contains: (top left) 1 - a photo taken of Fr. Zarsky at Sydney’s Abbass Studios; 2 - Fr. Zarsky’s calling card; (top right) 3 – a book certifying Fr. Zarsky’s studies in Lviv (a major city in present-day Ukraine), 1939; 4 – Fr. Zarsky’s certificate of Canadian citizenship;
The Proskomediynyk, or Table of Preparation Sitting on a red cloth are the Chalice, Paten and Star. They are used to transfer the bread and wine from the Proskomediynyk to the Prystil, or Altar - and used to distribute Holy Communion. In the foreground are three Chalice covers, embroidered to match the priest’s vestments – one cover for the Paten, one for the Chalice, and the Great Cover to cover both. To the right of the Chalice covers is the Spear, used during the prayers to prepare the bread for Holy Communion. Above the Spear are two cruets containing water and fortified red wine, used for Holy Communion. Two candles illuminate the table. The tablecloths on the Table of Needs, Altar and Table of Preparation were all embroidered by parishioner Tekla Mulak in 1985.
The Gospel on the altar was printed around 1900 in Zhovkva (a city in present-day Ukraine) - on a printing press in the Basilian monastery. It was donated to the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic church, by Michael and Katheryn Mareniak, in 1914. The Gospel, of all church material of the time, is in the old Church Slavonic language. The kivot, or Tabernacle, is a miniature replica of the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Church that stands today. It was made by a member of the parish and normally sits on the altar in the church.
To the right of the Tabernacle sits a wooden hand-cross. This one is carved out of linden wood, and on two sides. It was carved for Father Roman Dusanowskyj, the parish’s current priest. This cross was carved in Lviv, Ukraine by a seminarian as gift for Fr. Roman. The carvings depict the crucified Christ on one side, and the Mother of Sorrows on the other. Two red cloths, purificators also sit on the altar. A communion spoon from the parish’s earliest years. The spoon is decorated with an anchor-cross – so it is likely that it was made specifically for the Holy Ghost Ukrainian Parish in Sydney, NS.